Resources for Thinking, Working, and Communicating Visually

May 12, 2012

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInEmail this to someonePin on Pinterest
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading...


When we lead workshops on Graphic Facilitation (like the one we held this weekend the the NY Peace Institute in Brooklyn) we like to share much of the information that WE  learned from our peers and those that came before us.  

Below is a list of resources we would like to share with our participants.

We know that many of you have links and books that you refer to for increasing your team’s collaboration. Please feel free to leave a link in the comments box to share with others!

Books:

Back of the Napkin, Dan Roam http://www.danroam.com/the-back-of-the-napkin/ Game Storming, Dave Gray, Sunni Brown, James Macanufo http://www.gogamestorm.com/ Visual Thinking, David Sibbet http://www.grove.com/site/vm_book.html Business Model Generation, Alex Osterwalder and Yves Pigneur http://www.businessmodelgeneration.com/book Understanding Comics, Scott McCloud http://scottmccloud.com/2-print/1-uc/index.html Drawing with the Right Side of the Brain, Betty Edwards http://www.drawright.com/

Online Learning:

AlphaChimp University http://learntoscribe.com/classroom/ LooseTooth http://www.youtube.com/loosetoothdotcom

Materials:

Neuland Markers http://www.neuland-world.com/EU/index.htm Copic Markershttp://www.copicmarker.com/

Articles:

Doodling for Dollars: Wall Street Journal http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052702303978104577362402264009714.html Graphic Recording vs. Facilitation http://www.makemark.com/articlesCenter for Graphic Facilitation: a comprehensive blog on the industryhttp://www.alphachimp.com/weblog/tag/graphic-facilitation Globaloria students have been boldly demonstrating how art and design and creative cognition can re-ignite STEM learning http://seedmagazine.com/content/article/full_steam_ahead_on_cs-stem/ People who Doodle Learn Faster http://io9.com/5834081/people-who-doodle-learn-faster See What I Mean: The Power of Visual Learning http://www.fastcompany.com/resources/learning/conner/013006.html The Miseducation of the Doodle http://www.alistapart.com/articles/the-miseducation-of-the-doodle The Power of Doodling: How Doodles Can Lead to Great Ideas http://education-portal.com/articles/The_Power_of_Doodling_How_Doodles_Can_Lead_to_Great_Ideas.html The Power of the Doodle http://brandonrike.com/the-power-of-the-doodle Sketchnotes 101: The Basics of Visual Note-Taking http://www.core77.com/blog/sketchnotes Why Integrating Art into the Classroom May Improve Content Retention http://artplantaetoday.com/2011/09/30/why-the-arts-improve-content-retention/ Working Paper: Creativity Models http://www.directedcreativity.com/pages/WPModels.html (Thank you to AlphaChimp University for compling many of the links in the “Articles” section!)