How Visuals Help Collaboration- ImageThink at Ordev

November 8, 2011

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInEmail this to someonePin on Pinterest


We had great fun leading a workshop and presenting at the Ordev DEVELOPER CONFERENCE in Malmö, Sweden on how visuals aid communication.  Øredev  is the Premier developer’s conference in Europe focused on the whole software development process. Øredev means Quantity and Quality, bringing the best speakers on subjects such as Java, .Net, Project Management, Web development and Testing. We graphic record the topics developers are working with today as well as the ones you will be using tomorrow!

Below is a list of resources we would like to share with our audience.

We know that many of you have links and books that you refer to for increasing your team’s collaboration. Please feel free to leave a link in the comments box to share with others!

Books:

Back of the Napkin, Dan Roam http://www.danroam.com/the-back-of-the-napkin/ Visual Thinking, David Sibbet http://www.grove.com/site/vm_book.html Business Model Generation, Alex Osterwalder and Yves Pigneur http://www.businessmodelgeneration.com/book Understanding Comics, Scott McCloud http://scottmccloud.com/2-print/1-uc/index.html

Online Learning:

AlphaChimp University http://learntoscribe.com/classroom/ LooseTooth http://www.youtube.com/loosetoothdotcom

Materials:

Neuland Markers http://www.neuland-world.com/EU/index.htm Copic Markers http://www.copicmarker.com/

Articles:

Graphic Recording vs. Facilitation http://www.makemark.com/articles Center for Graphic Facilitation A comprehensive blog on the industryhttp://www.alphachimp.com/weblog/tag/graphic-facilitation Globaloria students have been boldly demonstrating how art and design and creative cognition can re-ignite STEM learning http://seedmagazine.com/content/article/full_steam_ahead_on_cs-stem/
People who Doodle Learn Faster http://io9.com/5834081/people-who-doodle-learn-faster See What I Mean: The Power of Visual Learning http://www.fastcompany.com/resources/learning/conner/013006.html The Miseducation of the Doodle http://www.alistapart.com/articles/the-miseducation-of-the-doodle The Power of Doodling: How Doodles Can Lead to Great Ideas http://education-portal.com/articles/The_Power_of_Doodling_How_Doodles_Can_Lead_to_Great_Ideas.html The Power of the Doodle http://brandonrike.com/the-power-of-the-doodle Sketchnotes 101: The Basics of Visual Note-Taking http://www.core77.com/blog/sketchnotes Why Integrating Art into the Classroom May Improve Content Retention http://artplantaetoday.com/2011/09/30/why-the-arts-improve-content-retention/ Working Paper: Creativity Models http://www.directedcreativity.com/pages/WPModels.html
 
(Thank you to AlphaChimp University for compling many of the links in the “Articles” section!)
   
Tagged: